creating a php.ini file

Thread: creating a php.ini file

creating a php.ini file

OS: Linux, php: v4.4.0, scripts are ran as CGI executables

Greetings, I have been trying to set up a cms for a group and I'm pretty new at all of this. here's my problem...

When I run a security mod on the site I am getting the following security errors:
    'register_globals' : on Not secure
    'allow_url_fopen' : on Not secure
    'session.use_trans_sid' : on Not secure

After googling, emailing the host and trial and error I have discovered that I need to create a php.ini file. There is currently no .htaccess or php.ini file in the site.

My latest attempt at the code still gets the errors:
    php.ini:
    Code:
    <?php
    register_globals = off;
    allow_url_fopen = off;
    session.use_trans_sid = off;
    ?>
    Is my code wrong or do I also need to create a .htaccess file?

Thanks in advance to anyone that can point this newb in the right direction,

Steve

Pna lbh ernq guvf¿
    Quote Originally Posted by StevenB
    After googling, emailing the host and trial and error I have discovered that I need to create a php.ini file.
    I really doubt that. There is only one php.ini file that the entire system looks at... it's configured by whoever installs the webserver & PHP interpreter.

Now, in a hosting environment, an .htaccess file would be the way to go. Create a .htaccess file in the root of your web directory, and use the appropriate command to change each value. For the different commands, see this man page: configuration.changes

Thanks for your response,

The host recomended the phi.ini file. This was thier response:
    I'm sorry but we cannot alter these settings for the entire server due to security reasons.