PHP & MSSQL : "select *" returns Unicode error

Thread: PHP & MSSQL : "select *" returns Unicode error

Question PHP & MSSQL : "select *" returns Unicode error

I am using php to access a mssql server, and any query I attempt to run with a * yeilds a Unicode error.

"Warning: mssql_query() [function.mssql-query]: message: Unicode data in a Unicode-only collation or ntext data cannot be sent to clients using DB-Library (such as ISQL) or ODBC version 3.7 or earlier. (severity 16) in "

I am a LAMP developer trying to inherit a large asp site with a mssql database attached on an IIS server (ugh). I'm trying to take baby steps in getting a simple sql query though but this unicode error is baffling. Also, due to the vagueness of the problem, I havent been able to find anything on google. I also do not have the required proprietary programs needed to open up the database (I'm a notepad only kind of guy). I'm trying to get a SELECT * FROM query to work so I can see all the fields it returns. I have very limited access to the server, so any help would be appreciated, keeping that in mind.

Is there some fundamentally elementary step that I'm messing up (Like that I don't completely understand what Unicode is, or why it would be used in a DB)? or is there some sort of compatability issue with my server? I'm starting to think that theres a field in the db, in a format that it cannot return to my php script's mssql_query(), and hence the error but mssql documentation and help forums seem to be few and far between.

I know I'm walking into a gun fight without even a knife here, but if anyone has any clues or suggestions, I'd be glad to learn.

A query that *did* work was "SELECT story_id,story_headline FROM stories WHERE writer = '$_GET[writer]'". The following errors out right at die("Query has a problem : $query");. The code up top is silly with $var = $var, but the connection works.

Code:
    $myServer = $server;
    $myUser = $username;
    $myPass = $password;