To run php script in background
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: To run php script in background

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4

    To run php script in background

    Hi all,
    I am very new to php,I have problem for running php script in backround.My issue is I have a .php (script1.php) file that should run in backround when i click the button in another php (script2.php) file.

    Am using Windows xp
    Php version 5.3.8
    Apache server.

    I googled and found like this..

    <?php
    $cmd="C:\wamp\www\Phpscript\script1.php";

    pclose(popen("start /B ".$cmd, 'r'));
    ?>
    but it is not helpful to me..Kindly suggest me any other way..
    Thnaks

  2. #2
    Senior Member dagon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    6,178
    PHP Code:
    $WshShell = new COM("WScript.Shell");
    $oExec $WshShell->Run("cmd /C dir /S %windir%"0false); 

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    4
    Hi,I have used to exec to run the php script in backround..But it not seems to be run in backround..

    echo "successfully loaded";
    exec("php D:/wamp/www/Test_krish/Email.php $List_name $C_name $c_id $L_No $path1 $path2 >outputVR.txt", $output);
    The echo statemnet get displayed only after exec statement gets run..

    Then i tried this

    system("php D:/wamp/www/Test_krish/Email.php $List_name $C_name $c_id $L_No $path1 $path2 > /dev/null &");


    This is not working since am using windows xp...

    How to make this to run in windows

    Please help

    Thanks in Advance
    Ajarwe

  4. #4
    Settled 4 red convertible dalecosp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Accelerating Windows at 9.81 m/s....
    Posts
    7,715
    Quote Originally Posted by Ajarwe View Post
    <?php
    $cmd="C:\wamp\www\Phpscript\script1.php";

    pclose(popen("start /B ".$cmd, 'r'));
    ?>
    but it is not helpful to me..Kindly suggest me any other way..
    Thnaks
    How about:

    PHP Code:
    <?php
    $cmd
    ="c:\path\to\php.exe C:\wamp\www\Phpscript\script1.php";  // PHP is an executable ... right?

    pclose(popen("start /B ".$cmd'r'));
    ?>
    /!!\ mysql_ is deprecated --- don't use it! Tell your hosting company you will switch if they don't upgrade! /!!!\ ereg() is deprecated --- don't use it!

    dalecosp "God doesn't play dice." --- Einstein "Perl is hardly a paragon of beautiful syntax." --- Weedpacket

    Getting Help at All --- Collected Solutions to Common Problems --- Debugging 101 --- Unanswered Posts --- OMBE: Office Machines, Business Equipment

  5. #5
    PHP Witch laserlight's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    13,563
    Warning: especially when using double quoted string literals, beware the backslashes.
    Use Bazaar for your version control system
    Read the PHP Spellbook
    Learn How To Ask Questions The Smart Way

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    812
    I've always run my PHP scripts in the background using Scheduled Tasks. Those were scripts that needed to be run on a regular basis at a specific time, though.
    Declare variables, not war.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •